Posted by: Dan | September 11, 2004

Illusions of Grandeur

I think I am more self-conscious than I used to be.
That is to say, I have become more self-absorbed.

Whereas before I could care less about what others thought of me, I became accustomed to being liked and even admired. As a result I have come to lose the very characteristics that produced those relationships in the first place. I have come to care greatly about what others think of me – and I have come to expect them to think highly of me.

Now, I've always been a shy person, but for the last half dozen years I've been able to hide that fairly well.
To be shy and arrogant, that's when the trouble truly begins.

Responses

  1. *laughs*
    Ah, humility. It’s so overrated.
    To hell with it!
    *wink*

  2. So true.
    I guess I’m just having trouble adjusting to the fact that, dammit, I am better than everybody else.

  3. *laughs*


Leave a Reply

Categories

